I remember redwood trees.


<
<�<
<�<�<
<�<
<


>
>�>
>�>�>
>�>
>


92131345

Starbucks. I cannot believe I am at Starbucks. I didn't order anything, I'm just using my free hour of t-mobile internet time with the aid of my new toy, a 12" PowerBook G4. If I go too long, they'll charge $6 to my credit card, so I need to be quick.

I could just update this at my work, but I never get 2 seconds to spare there. I like my new job, especially the 10+ hours of overtime I get every week. I don't like living in L.A., and I never will, but I find ways to tolerate it. I hooked up with old friends, so I have people to keep me sane when I'm not working my ass off trying to... Well, I would say "trying to get ahead," but ahead of what? I'm just trying to get by, pay off all of my debts, and develop a killer resume that will be useful somewhere outside of the entertainment industry.

Not that I work in the industry for anything but tax purposes, but everything I'm learning is industry related. My brother gives me lessons on business music all the time as if I'm a tourist and he's the tour guide. "This is a split agreement. Once you write a song, you have to write one of these immediatley, otherwise there will be frivolous lawsuits later." "This studio is connected with blah blah blah, who works with blah blah blah." It's all very impressive and boring at the same time.

Baudrillard said that Disneyland exists as a simulated fantasy world in order to give the impression that the surrounding area of Los Angeles is real, which, of course, it isn't. I'm paraphasing, and not very well, but he was right. This entire town is just images generating images. Render time is getting faster and faster, and we cannot even remember where it began. Simulacra overload.

I met a girl on the trainride through Oregon and California that I wanted to marry. Well, maybe I didn't really want to, but we had fun making up all the possible new names that we could make by combing ours in the event that we did get married. She got off in Oakland, and had plans to go back to Portland again. I guess life just wanted to throw me one last reminder that my heart belongs in Portland.



{A} {E} {I} {O} {U} & {Y}

-->