thinking forward


<
<�<
<�<�<
<�<
<


>
>�>
>�>�>
>�>
>


82631635

I promised I would give a detailed destcription of my Vancouver experience, but now I'm just promising not to promise anymore. Vancouver was over a week ago, and I don't feel like editing what I wrote about it to post it here. Why should I write it twice? I don't have this piece of webspace to entertain anybody but myself, anyway. Lately, I haven't found it to be very entertaining.

I will, however, say a few things about what I learned in Vancouver, how to say goodbye forever. I met a lot of interesting people from all over the world, and began to wonder how we would all say goodbye after we went our seperate ways. The easiest way, of course, was to not say goodbye. I didn't go out of my way to remind people when my last day was. I simply raised my glass, said "it was nice to meet you all," and crawled into my bed, ready to slip out the next morning before dawn.

Best friends and lovers came easy, and left easier. We had a word for this phenomenon, but I have forgotten it. I have to wonder how widespread this phenomenon is. If it is abundant, I am going to follow it around the world.

In this part of the world, there were six, or eight of us, depending on what day it was, and we were all traveling alone. It's a lot easier to feel comfortable in a group when you know nobody knows anybody else. It only took the first day for us to learn everybody's stories and personality traits. My story was that I went up to Vancouver with two friends who were staying for two days, and decided to stay later, because I knew that the next week there would be two more freinds driving up for two days, and I could ride back with them. Most other stories involved months of travel that involved a short stop in B.C.

But the moral of the story is that was over a week ago, and this is now. It's good to have a record of the past, but only to know where you are. I used to dwell, but now I know how to let go.

I could let go of this whole damn world. Someday I will.

There's nothing keeping me anywhere anymore. Looking back at my three years in this city, I could say that there's two people that I would want to give a genuine goodbye to. Funny they've never met each other.



{A} {E} {I} {O} {U} & {Y}

-->