American Pride: Made in China, some parts may not be suitable for small children.


<
<�<
<�<�<
<�<
<


>
>�>
>�>�>
>�>
>


6242655p

a few days ago, while I was purchasing inebriating fluids at my local convenience store, I was struck by a new product they were selling: American Flag Truck. This was a toy semi-truck, about the scale of a hotwheels, with an american flag on the side of it's clear plastic trailer filled with assorted colors of molded sugar candies. Before I noticed the absurdity of atatching the latin prefix for half to something that is much bigger than the original, I thought is this an accurate representation of American pride?

I turned the package over, discovering big bold letters, "Made in China." The image was complete in my mind: A clear vessel affixed with the red, white and blue by underpaid laborers, filled with lumps of sugar that look bright and shiny so that when it's shipped here, bratty little kids can beg their exhausted parents to give it to them and make them shut up, but in actuality, they probably have the same chalky consistency of those putrid candy hearts that you used to get on valentines day in grade school. When the pastel candies are finally discarded, the end product is a hollow, transparent vessel carrying an American flag. Hollow and transparent: I can't imagine a clearer (no pun intended) representation of today's post-911 American pride.

Basically, I'm growing weary of seeing all of these flag decals on everything. This nation was built by people willing to question authority, now the symbol of our nation is used to represent submission to authority. Go to copvcia.com



{A} {E} {I} {O} {U} & {Y}

-->